IntelliSyn Pharma Research Excellence Award

Sponsored by IntelliSyn RD., the IntelliSyn Pharma Research Excellence Award (formerly the Boehringer Ingelheim Research Excellence Award) is presented to a scientist residing in Canada who has made a distinguished contribution to medicinally relevant organic or biophysical chemistry while working in Canada. Eligible candidates must have held their first professional appointment as an independent researcher for twelve years* or less at the time of initial nomination.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2016 winner of the IntelliSyn Pharma Research Excellence Award is:

Robert A. Britton
Simon Fraser University

Robert Britton obtained his BSc from the University of Waterloo in 1996 working with Victor Snieckus, and his PhD in natural product isolation, structural elucidation, and total synthesis from the University of British Columbia under the supervision of Edward Piers and Raymond Anderson. Britton spent two years at the University of Cambridge with Ian Paterson as an NSERC PDF then joined the Process Research Group at Merck as a senior scientist before starting an independent career at Simon Fraser University in 2005. He is a Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research Career Scholar and his research program focuses on the concise synthesis of structurally and stereochemically complex natural products and the discovery of new synthetic methods to support drug discovery and development.

Past Winners - Boehringer Ingelheim Award

Andre Beauchemin
University of Ottawa

Robert E. Campbell
University of Alberta

David Vocadlo
Simon Fraser University