R. S. Jane Memorial Award

Sponsored by the Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering, the R.S. Jane Memorial Award is presented to a person, who, while residing in Canada has made an exceptional achievement to the field of chemical engineering or industrial chemistry.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2016 winner of the R. S. Jane Memorial Award is:

Shiping Zhu, FCIC, McMaster University
Presented by Santiago Faucher, CSChE President (Right)

Shiping Zhu received his bachelor’s degree from Zhejiang University in 1982 and his PhD from McMaster University in 1991, both in chemical engineering. He joined the Department of Chemical Engineering at McMaster as a faculty member in 1994 and served as Department Chair in 2009–2014. He holds the title of Distinguished University Professor at McMaster University and he is a Canada Research Chair in Polymer Reaction Engineering. He is an elected Fellow of the Chemical Institute of Canada, Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering, Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada, and Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. He received the CIC’s Macromolecular Science and Engineering Award in 2011. His research interest is in the areas of controlled radical polymerization, catalytic polymerization of olefins, polymerization kinetic and process modeling, surface modification, smart polymers and their applications in chemical engineering separation. His research group has published over 300 refereed journal papers, presented in more than 200 conferences and delivered over 100 invited seminars. His technical papers have received more than 10,000 citations and his H-index is over 50. He has trained about 100 postgraduate students, postdoctoral fellows and other highly qualified researchers.

Past Winners

James M. Piret, FCIC, University of British Columbia
Presented by Amarjeet Bassi, FCIC, CSChE President (right)

David P. Wilkinson
University of British Columbia

Jesse Zhu
Western University