T K Sham Award for Research Excellence in Materials Chemistry

Sponsored by Western University, Canadian Light Source and the Materials Chemistry Division, the T K Sham Award for Research Excellence in Materials Chemistry is presented to a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant who has made an outstanding contribution to materials chemistry while working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2017 winner of the T K Sham Award for Research Excellence in Materials Chemistry is:

Jonathan Veinot
University of Alberta

Jonathan (Jon) Veinot is originally from southern Ontario and grew up in St. Catharines. He received his BSc degree in honours chemistry from the University of Western Ontario in 1994. His senior undergraduate research thesis focused on metallothionein and was supervised by Martin Stillman. He then moved to York University for PhD studies where he worked with William Pietro investigating surface functionalization of cadmium sulfide nanoparticles and electroluminescent polymers. After defending his PhD in 1999 he moved to Northwestern University and Tobin Marks’ group where, as an NSERC PDF, he strove to improve the efficiency of organic light-emitting diodes by rationally tailoring electrode surface chemistry. In 2002, Veinot joined the Department of Chemistry at the University of Alberta being promoted to associate professor in 2008 and professor in 2012. While his research team has explored such topics as super-hydrophobic/self-cleaning surfaces, metal oxide nanomaterials and polymers for organic electronic devices, their primary focus lies in the development of Group 14 (i.e., Si and Ge) nanomaterials (e.g., quantum dots, nanosheets, etc.) and their applications. Veinot has also built strong professional and personal ties with colleagues in Germany, particularly at the Technical University of Munich where he was a visiting research professor in 2012 with Bernhard Rieger and is now a TUM Research Ambassador. He also established and is the Canadian Director of the “Alberta-Technical University of Munich International Graduate for Hybrid Functional Materials (ATUMS)” that is supported by the NSERC CREATE and DFG IRTG programs.

Past Winners

Mark MacLachlan
University of British Columbia

Dmitrii F. Perepichka, McGill University
Presented by Jonathan Veinot, Past Chair, Materials Chemistry Division (right)

Federico Rosei
Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS)

Alex Adronov
McMaster University