Strem Chemicals Award for Pure or Applied Inorganic Chemistry

Sponsored by Strem Chemicals, Inc., the Strem Chemicals Award is presented to a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant who has made an outstanding contribution to inorganic chemistry, demonstrating exceptional promise, while working in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2017 winner of the Strem Chemicals Award for Pure or Applied Inorganic Chemistry is:

Dwight Seferos
University of Toronto

Dwight Seferos is currently an associate professor of chemistry, chemical engineering, and Canada Research Chair in Polymer Nanomaterials at the University of Toronto. He completed a BSc in 2001 from Western Washington University, a PhD in 2006 University of California, Santa Barbara, and was an American Cancer Society Postdoctoral Fellow at Northwestern before beginning his independent career at the University of Toronto in 2009. Research in the Seferos group concerns the design, synthesis, characterization and device engineering of organometallic and organic materials, specifically those composed of selenophene and tellurophene. Seferos has authored or coauthored over 90 publications, holds numerous patents, and has been recognized by several national and international awards including the DuPont Young Professor Award and Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship.

Past Winners

Curtis P. Berlinguette
University of British Columbia

Muralee Murugesu, University of Ottawa
Presented by Peter Byrne, Strem Chemicals (right)

Paul Ragogna
Western University

Mark MacLachlan
University of British Columbia