Keith Laidler Award

Sponsored by the CIC Physical, Theoretical and Computation Chemistry Division, this award recognizes outstanding early-career contributions to physical chemistry, for research carried out in Canada, by a scientist residing in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2017 winner of the Keith Laidler Award is:

Viktor N. Staroverov
University of Western Ontario

Viktor Staroverov received his undergraduate education in Minsk, Belarus, an MSc degree from Brock University in 1997, and a PhD from Indiana University in 2001. Over the next few years, he was a postdoctoral research associate at Rice University. In 2006, he joined the Department of Chemistry at The University of Western Ontario and was promoted to the rank of associate professor in 2012. Staroverov's research is in the area of quantum chemistry; he develops new methods of electronic structure calculations and has a particular interest in density-functional techniques. His recent contributions have significantly advanced the method of Kohn-Sham effective potentials in unanticipated directions. Staroverov is a recipient of the Governor General's Gold Medal, the Felix Haurowitz Award, the Western Faculty Scholar Award, and the Florence Bucke Science Prize.


Past Winners

Venkataraman Thangadurai
University of Calgary

Gonzalo Cosa, McGill University
Presented by Hans-Peter Loock, Physical, Theoretical and Computational Chemistry Division (right)

David Bryce
University of Ottawa

Roman Krems
University of British Columbia