Canadian Journal of Chemistry Best Paper Award

Sponsored by Canadian Journal of Chemistry and Canadian Science Publishing (CSP), the Canadian Journal of Chemistry Best Paper Award is presented to recognize the “best paper” published in the volume year of the Canadian Journal of Chemistry (CJC) by a scientist residing in Canada.

View the Terms of Reference and list of Past Winners

The 2017 winner of the Canadian Journal of Chemistry Best Paper Award is:

James W. Gauld
University of Windsor

For his paper: "Insights from molecular dynamics on substrate binding and effects of active site mutations in Δ1-pyrroline-5-carboxylate dehyrogenase:" Bogdan F. Ion, Mohamed M. Aboelnga, James W. Gauld, Can. J. Chem., 2016, 94(12): 1151-1162, 10.1139/cjc-2016-0286.

James Gauld completed his doctoral studies under the supervision of Leo Radom at the Australian National University, Canberra, Australia. This was followed by a postdoctoral fellowship under the guidance of Sten Lunell in the Institution of Quantum Chemistry at Uppsala University, Sweden. He was then awarded an Izaak Walton Killam postdoctoral fellowship at Dalhousie University where he studied within the research group of Russell Boyd. During this time he undertook computational investigations on biochemical radicals and bio-related catalysts. Since July 2001, he has held a faculty position in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of Windsor. A major focus of his research group is the application of a broad range of computational methods (e.g., molecular dynamics (MD), quantum mechanics/molecular mechanics (QM/MM), and QM/MM-MD) to the study of biochemical problems. In particular, we are interested in elucidating the chemistry of biocatalysts such as enzymes, their catalytic mechanisms, oxidative damage and regulation, and inhibition.

Past Winners

Kevin Thurbide
University of Calgary

Adrian Schwan, University of Guelph
Presented by Yining Huang, senior editor of Canadian Journal of Chemistry (right)